If you want to delete your WordPress blog, but you don’t know how, you’ve come to the right place. The reasons to deleting your WordPress blog may be many. Maybe you’re just bored with, maybe you want to start a new one… There are many legitimate reasons for doing this. Although deleting your blog is a very simple process, there are some situations where it can be a bit complicated. So, because of that, we are going to give you an explanation of how you can get rid of your WordPress blog. Read on further to learn more about it.
The first step when deleting something should always be to back up. Even if you’re completely dead set that you don’t need your blog and the information on it anymore, you should still back up. You may change your mind in the future, and then you’ll thank yourself that you backed it up.
When it comes to the actual deletion of your WordPress blog, you will find the link that will delete it just below the tools menu in the dashboard. Clicking that link will give you a question asking you to provide the reason of deletion. You can simply click on another reason, and you can now proceed to deleting your blog. After that, you’ll be asked to make sure that your data has been exported, as well as warning you that if you delete your website, the data on it will be lost, and you won’t be able to use it anymore. Then, you should click on the check box, and then on the delete now button. A confirmation email will be sent to your email, where you will confirm the deletion of your WordPress blog. That’s it.
WordPress users may install and switch between different themes. Themes allow users to change the look and functionality of a WordPress website and they can be installed without altering the content or health of the site. Every WordPress website requires at least one theme to be present and every theme should be designed using WordPress standards.
Things are a bit different, though, if you’ve been using your own domain. You won’t be able to delete your WordPress blog if you have bought a domain. To be able to access the domain manager, your website will need to be active on WordPress.com, and then you basically have two options for proceeding. One thing you can do is to simply turn your blog private. Just change the visibility settings to private. You can also move your domain into a different registrar, which is something that may take a few days. As we said before, you’re not able to delete your blog when you are on your own domain, so this won’t delete it, but people won’t be able to access it, so you have pretty much deleted it.
As you can see, deleting your blog is not a difficult thing to do. But, if you have bought a domain, things can be a little different, so knowing these things can come in handy. We hope that we have helped you, and that your further efforts give you great success!